No, I didn’t forget to update.  I just got… busy.  With, you know, employment.  And stuff.  Right.

Well, it’s been a week, and I have to say I really love my new position.  It’s administrative, but in a good way – I’m learning a lot and absorbing a lot and hopefully making an impact.

Now, granted, it wasn’t an instant “OH MY GOSH I’VE FOUND MY
CALLING WHEEEEEEE!” kind of an experience the first few days.  In fact, last Thursday and Friday I walked around in a bit of a daze, smiling and nodding and hoping it looked like I was picking up on things, all while furiously fighting the fight or flight response.  After two solid months of unemployment and five months of looking, I finally had a position… and all I wanted was to run in the other direction.

I’m not sure what it was, if it was a new office, or a new experience or just sheer terror, but my legs itched to take me out the door.  Perhaps it was because the whole process went so quickly; I didn’t have time to adjust.  I was so happy to be working, but the change of it all… I think it just scared me.  It was a lot to take in in a very short amount of time.

After a week of training, I feel significantly better.  I can handle this, I can do well at this.  And that’s a very good feeling.

*Completely unrelated aside: The last episode of ER is on right now.  Kind of unbelievable.

