Yesterday, oh yesterday.

I left my interview feeling great.  Have you ever walked out knowing you nailed it?  Yeah, that’s how I felt.  I didn’t expect to hear anything until later this week – they wanted to fill the position quickly, and told me I’d know something by Friday.

My phone rang at 3:30, and I had accepted an offer by 5.  I start tomorrow.

So, wow.  I’m still recovering from the whiplash of the day.  I mean, I hadn’t heard ANYTHING from any jobs since November.  NOVEMBER!  It’s bad out there, and I was ready to settle in for the long haul.  I’d finally made peace with the waiting game, and then, BOOM.  Everything happens at once.

Before I heard from my new employers (eep!), I got an unexpected phone call from a friend and mentor I hadn’t talked to in YEARS.  He was the first person to hire me in DC – he took a chance on a wide eyed, naive 18-year-old freshman and showed her the ropes of this crazy city.  He oh-so-gently reminded me that, hey!  No one judges you for your work experience, you dolt.  I can’t express how thankful I am to have him in my cheering section.  Check out his blog (which I just discovered) – I promise, you’ll enjoy.

That said, I also need to thank all the folks that sent me congratulations yesterday.  I am incredibly blessed to have so many people in my corner.  It’s so easy to get wrapped up in yourself and forget that, hey, you have more safety nets than one person could POSSIBLY need.  I’m a lucky girl, and I know it.

I’m off to finish my ironing (I do not remember owning that many button-downs…) and get ready for my next adventure.  Tomorrow’s going to be a blast!

